Loss of Words – 6 Word Stories

I am a person of MANY words. (Ask my mother. She will tell you that I can’t tell a short story to save my life.)

For this reason when my weekly assignment is due with a requirement to be between 225 and 275 words, I have the hardest time keeping it short. I just can’t seem to do it. How can you possibly make a point in 275 words or less and make it clear? I’m learning to do just that. In doing so, I am learning what details are necessary and which I can probably do without.

So I now have this challenge. Lately I have been bouncing anywhere between writers block, and writers run – where I can’t stop writing and have so many details and things that simply must be expressed. The challenge now put me at a loss of words. And in doing this I find out:

The ability to write well isn’t about how much you can write, but how much you can say without saying so much. 

Here is the challenge. Write a story in 6 words or less. Leave yours in the comments and share with friends. Let us see those creative juices get flowing! I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

Here is mine:

“Running hard. Pursuing Jesus. Always enduring.”

How much can you say without saying much?

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Loss of Words – 6 Word Stories

  1. What a great challenge. Let’s see… Charles fooled Louisa; John saved her. Fun excercise!

  2. Tough one, Brittany. I’m not sure that I’m up to this challenge. I’ll have to think about it and come back!

  3. How about this: Grandkids visited; hugs, kisses; happy Grandma!

Leave a comment