Stop Moving the Goal Post!

I was looking for inspiration today and this quote is what I found.

A goal is a dream with a deadline.

It is good to have dreams, but if you aren’t doing anything to pursue them then they might as well be on your amazon wish list that you hope someone will finally check out and randomly send you something on it. Basically, if you want something, you need to go after it.

How is that book coming along that you have dreamed of writing for the last several years? I suppose you might have said, “I’m going to write my book this year…” and then you continue pushing it back because you find you don’t have the time.

STOP MOVING THE GOAL POST.

If something is important to you, you will find a way. If it is not, you will find an excuse.

Is writing that book on your wish list or your goal list?

I challenge you to set a deadline for your dream and start working towards that goal. If you keep moving the goal post, then you will always be a field away from it. Set yourself, run full force and find a team to help keep you accountable and on the right track.

You now have your goal in sight. Take it one yard at a time. It doesn’t matter how long it takes, just as long as you get there. There will be set-backs. You might fumble along the way. But when you pick that up and run with all of your might, you are going to get closer and closer to that goal post until you finally score.

That makes it 1 for the dream team!

5 Comments

Filed under Books, Writing

5 responses to “Stop Moving the Goal Post!

  1. Thank you for a lovely post! I find that I always move my goal post because I am “busy”. Which is really procrastination with a arguable excuse. I have been working on a book for a while, and yet I’m still working with not much to show. People have advised me to write a page a day, which seems so easy said aloud until you actually have to designate time to do it. Any advice?

    Adieu, scribbler

    • Thank you for reading!
      I have been in the same boat. My advice to you is get yourself a team (one or two or more people) to keep you accountable.
      You already have your goal post – Completing your book.
      What you need to work on is the yard lines (milestones) you need to cross to get there – word count, page count, time spent per day/week/month to get there. No matter how “busy” you are, write every day – even if it is just a few sentences. This makes a difference in the long run.

      I have found that making a list to check things off is really helpful. I manage 3 blogs right now. This one I try to post daily, the others are daily/weekly depending on the project. This is on top of working 2 jobs and going to school and other things. The reason it gets done – I make it a priority on my list. But more importantly, it is ON my list, meaning sometime today or this week, I will do it.

      Find what time of day is best for you to write. When does the inspiration strike you the most? Writing shorthand and typing it up later is always an option too. This minimizes the distractions (like the internet for example) and keeps you focused!

      Hope this helps! Keep me updated on your writing journey. I would love to hear more about your….work soon-to-once-again be in progress. 🙂

      • Thank you so much for the advice! I think I should at least write half of a page daily. More if I have time, but never less. It is not a lot, so I won’t have to much of a hassle designating time for it, and I will probably do more. Hopefully, I don’t start shoving other important things for writing. Then I am back where I started on the other side:)

        Also, I tried writing first, but for some reason I can’t understand I think better when I am on the computer. I also can type pretty fast, so I don’t get as frustrated when I am rushing an idea to paper.

        Three blogs, two jobs, and school. I shouldn’t even be complaining 🙂

        Again, thanks for the assistance!

        Adieu, scribbler

      • You are most welcome! That will give you a good start. You might want to make a list and include the other important things that you may shove for writing just to be safe. 🙂

        I completely understand what you mean about the writing and typing. I’ve been there.

        No worries. I didn’t think you were complaining.

        You are most welcome! “Pop” in again!

        BTW, I checked out your blog. Love what I’ve seen of it so far!

      • Thanks 🙂 I definitely will!

        Adieu, scribbler

Leave a Reply

